Tuesday, 28 July 2015


In Silent Graves: The Cedar Hills SeriesIn Silent Graves: The Cedar Hills Series by Gary A. Braunbeck
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

BOOK DESCRIPTION: One moment, Robert Londrigan is a rising-star newscaster, devoted husband, and expectant father; the next, he's a widower in a morgue, staring at gaping holes in his daughter’s body where surgeons have harvested every useful scrap of her organs and tissue. The rock-bottom falls out from under his life when a disfigured man knocks Robert out and steals what’s left of her tiny corpse out from under his nose, and leaves a gruesome surprise waiting for him back home.

Robert’s search for the disfigured man leads him through a rapidly-fragmenting reality into a chiaroscuro world and the discovery that neither his wife nor his daughter are who he thought they were.

Gary A. Braunbeck’s work has earned, 7 Bram Stoker Awards, an International Horror Guild Award, 3 Shocker Awards, a Black Quill Award, and a World Fantasy Award nomination.

MY REVIEW: I read the first half of this book and skimmed the second half. The writing is good and the author surveys a range of themes, but the pace was just too slow for me to stick with it.

View all my reviews

No comments:

Post a Comment